Tags

, , , ,

The Sultan Salahuddin Abdul Aziz Mosque (yup, that’s a mouthful), or the Blue Mosque (in short) is located in Shah Alam, Malaysia and is the main attraction in this particular city. I won’t pretend to be an expert on the mosque because I have very basic (or you could even call it pathetic) knowledge about Islamic Art, particularly when it comes to mosques. That does not mean they do not interest me. In fact they interest me a lot.

Anyhow, I’ll be getting into the ‘basics’ about the mosque now. The construction of the mosque took place between 1982 and 1988 and it was finally completed in 1988. It is currently the largest mosque in Malaysia and the second largest in Southeast Asia.

At one particular time, it had the tallest minaret in the world, but its position was soon taken by the Hassan II Mosque in Morocco. It now claims to have the biggest religious dome in the world (and that should say enough).

I visited the mosque during my stay in Shah Alam and believe me when I say that the mosque is practically visible almost anywhere in Shah Alam. It’s huge, but beautiful.

Note that non-Muslim visitors will have to dress according to the mosque rules. So men will have to cover up (though I did see a male tourist who was wearing shorts and he was still let in). For women, it is mandatory to wear one of the full cloaks kept for visitors at the mosque. You will also have to wear a headscarf. This can get very hot – so be warned.

Photography is allowed without flash so thankfully that is a relief or this post wouldn’t exist in the first place!

