Tags

, , , , , , ,

Ever watched a movie and thought “ewww, who in the world thought of such a line?”. Well here are some lines I though I should give credit to for giving me a similar feeling.

 

X-Men

I think this is probably the best of the trilogy. Part 2 wasn’t bad either but Part 3 was kind of disappointing. Anyway, putting this up now.

Storm: Do you know what happens to a toad when it’s struck by lightning? 

Storm: The same thing that happens to everything else. 

Were you expecting Storm to say something else? Something cooler? Well I know I was. Too bad you can’t change things. Maybe the script writer had thought of something cool and then he forgot all about it later!

 

The Chronicles of Narnia: Prince Caspian/The Voyage of the Dawn Treader

Sigh, this series had so much promise. Now let me reveal parts from both movies that gave me a slight heart attack. You can call me a purist here because I grew up reading the Narnia books.

C.S Lewis would have turned in his grave after listening/seeing this junk from Prince Caspian.

Prince Caspian: I wish we could have had more time together. 

Susan Pevensie: We never would have worked, anyway. 

Prince Caspian: Why not? 

Susan Pevensie: Well, I am 1300 years older than you. 

And then this one, from The Voyage of the Dawn Treader.

Lilliandil: Travelers of Narnia, I am your guide. 

King Caspian: You are most beautiful. 

Lilliandil: If it is a distraction for you, I-I can change forms. 

Edmund Pevensie, King Caspian: Noo!

Kind of funny but when you add two and two together and you get a very flirtatious Prince Caspian. For those who are interested to know, in the books, Prince Caspian does marry Ramandu’s daughter (who does not have a name but in the film, she was given the name Lilliandil) and he DOES NOT have any love connection with our old Miss Queenie Susan Pevensie. Sigh again.

 

Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince

At this point in my life, I hadn’t read the books, so I’m not being a purist or anything, but I found this conversation very out of place.

Hermione: R.A.B…

Harry: Dunno, but whoever they are, they have the real Horcrux. It means it was all a waste…all of it.

Hermione: Ron’s ok with it you know, you and Ginny.  I would just keep the snogging to a minimum.

Towards the end of HBP, Harry, Hermione and Ron are on top of the Astronomy Tower after the death of Dumbledore. As the audience, we are just trying to get over our favourite  Headmaster’s demise. I know I was. There was the discussion about the note in the locket which had the initials R.A.B. Now this really sets up the mood for the next film and we see how the fact that Harry knows nothing about R.A.B is disturbing him. But then immediately we see a very out of place looking Ron (like he’s just been put there because he’s also part of the trio) give a smile. Then Hermione says that completely cringe-worthy line. I don’t care about what Ron thinks about Harry and Ginny, especially when there’s so much more to worry about! What a way to end the movie. Sheesh!

 

Star Wars: Episode III – Revenge of the Sith

I am not someone who hates the prequel trilogy. In fact I really loved Revenge of the Sith. But seriously, what was this?

Anakin Skywalker: You are so… beautiful. 

Padmé: It’s only because I’m so in love. 

Anakin Skywalker: No, it’s because I’m so in love with you. 

No, I’m in love with you, no I am…blah blah. Yes, we know you’re in love. We already knew that from the Attack of the Clones but we don’t want to hear your cheesy romantic talk Anakin and Padmé! Blah. Ptooey!

 

Twilight: Eclipse

I watched this film many months back and I forgot most of it (thankfully) but somehow this very cringe-worthy conversation between Edward and Bella stayed with me (unfortunately).

Edward: All the nights I spent with you. Number one is when you said you’d marry me, Mrs. Cullen.

Bella: This is the 21st century. I at least wanna hyphenate my name.

I don’t know what they were trying to do here. If this was a way to say ‘hey, we’re trying to be slightly feminist here’, oh boy did you miss the target. Bella dear, ever heard of people NOT changing their surnames at all? Now that’s what I call the 21st century. Try it – sounds  better than Bella Swan-Cullen or whatever.

